A Passion for Chocolate

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

Chocolate YOLO Grenades

Leave a comment

chocolate_YOLO_grenades16_little_house_dunes

People say there’s a fine line between genius and insanity, for some of us that line disappears under smears of chocolate and cake batter. I myself was pushed across this line by Christina Tosi’s Momofuku Milk Bar cookbook, which my family gave me for Christmas.   It’s my favorite kind of cookbook, with tons of stories along with the recipes for things like liquid cheesecake, bagel bombs and the infamous crack pie.

So, when I went to make my old-fashioned chocolate crinkles today and finish off my cookie posts I asked myself, “What would Christina Tosi do?” If you don’t have a strong constitution it’s probably best not to ask yourself that question. I answered it with hazelnuts, almonds, coffee and sea salt caramels. If I had some good-quality chocolate jimmies I swear on all that is sacred I would have used those as well.

Chocolate YOLO Grenades, Makes 18

4 oz. bittersweet chocolate, melted and cooled
1/4 c. butter
3/4 c. brown sugar
1 egg
1 t. vanilla
1/3 c. ground hazelnuts
1/3 c. almond flour
1 t. instant coffee (I used Mackinac Island Fudge coffee.)
1/3 c. dark cocoa
3/4 c. flour
1 t. baking powder
1/4 c. milk
5 large sea salt caramels
1 c. granulated sugar
1 c. powdered sugar

Cream the butter and brown sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the egg and vanilla, then the melted chocolate.

chocolate_YOLO_grenades2_little_house_dunes

Beat in the nuts and coffee.

chocolate_YOLO_grenades4_little_house_dunes

Combine the flour, baking powder and cocoa. Beat in half the flour mixture, beat in the milk, and then the rest of the flour. Chill the dough for at least an hour or until firm.

chocolate_YOLO_grenades5_little_house_dunes

chocolate_YOLO_grenades6_little_house_dunes

chocolate_YOLO_grenades7_little_house_dunes

Cut the sea salt caramels into quarters, and put the sugars in separate bowls. Preheat the oven to 350.

chocolate_YOLO_grenades8_little_house_dunes
YOLO mise en place

Scoop out a spoonful of dough and mold it around a square of caramel.

chocolate_YOLO_grenades9_little_house_dunes

Roll it in the granulated sugar, then the powdered sugar.

chocolate_YOLO_grenades10_little_house_dunes chocolate_YOLO_grenades11_little_house_dunes

chocolate_YOLO_grenades12_little_house_dunes

Leaving about three inches between cookies, place the balls on lightly greased cookie sheets. Bake for about 10-15 minutes. The centers should still be slightly shiny if you’re going for Tosi-gooey.

chocolate_YOLO_grenades13_little_house_dunes

chocolate_YOLO_grenades15_little_house_dunes

chocolate_YOLO_grenades16_little_house_dunes

There you have it. Check out that runny caramel in the brownie-like center. Brutal. Warm these a touch before serving.

I hope you’re happy Christina Tosi – I have a feeling you will be 🙂

Author: empirewriter

I am a baker/writer lucky enough to live in northern Michigan. Google+ Heather Harris-Brady

Leave a Reply

